Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Bóinn

A poem by Kimberley Murray. Music by Stephen Curtis.

Seated on my throne of rock

I gaze across your water block

as hidden by fluorescent leaves

I melt into the forest

Ears deafened in your white noise

A poise thought cannot hold

You flow a river through my mind

and cleanse from youth to old

A daze pierced only

by the highest pitch

of a baby bird’s sound or

occasional twitch

at the snap of a branch

from the force that you compound

Peaceful chaos

is water and foam

as summer rain falls lightly

to your mouth

leaving ripples like kisses

upon your Selkie skin

I taste you in the air

& wish to dive in

Knowing the riptide

Could swallow me whole

But if I survive

Oh, the bliss

I would know.

I watch flies skate

in your surface pools

bumper cars in solitude

as the silver glisten of rain on leaf

calls me closer to shed my grief

The mossy roots of ancient trees

Criss-cross my path like snakes to be

As the smell of earth

Beckons me to walk

pine cone littered

Ivy sea

Wetness trickles

through my skin

as greater drops begin

and ferns reach out

to tickle my knees

leading me away

Your frequency fades

to rustling leaves

with wisdom verse

The blackbird speaks

an echo in silence

of what was before

But softer, sweeter

I crave more

Discussion about this podcast

Banfhile
Banfhile